If you are an Ohio employer with annual gross receipts of more than $292,000 (previously $288,000), you must pay the Ohio minimum wage. If you are an Ohio employer and your annual gross receipts are $292,000 or less, then Ohio law requires you to pay the federal minimum wage, which is currently $7.25 per hour (unchanged since July 2009).
The above increases are the result of the amendment to Ohio’s Constitution passed by Ohio voters in 2006, which tied Ohio’s minimum wage to the rate of inflation as measured by the Consumer Price Index.
An updated Ohio minimum wage poster for 2014 can be found here.
If you have any questions about this Human Resources E-Alert or any other employment law issue, please contact Elizabeth C. Stock at 513.870.6698 or any other member of the Bricker & Eckler Employment and Labor Group.